Board of Directors

Who is the leadership at ACTFL?

ACTFL is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors made up of leaders in language education from both K-12 and Higher Education. The ACTFL Board of Directors is elected each year by the membership. Here are the current directors.

2024 ACTFL Board of Directors

LJ Randolph Jr President

L.J. Randolph, Jr.: President - University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI

Milton alan turner president elect

Milton Alan Turner: President-Elect - Saint Ignatius High School, Cleveland, OH

Locke 01

Brandon Locke: Treasurer - Pacific Northwest Council for Languages (PNCFL), Anchorage School District, Anchorage, AK

Back 01

Michele Back - University of Connecticut Neag School of Education, Storrs, CT


Adrienne Brandenburg - Poudre High School, Ft. Collins, CO


Cynthia Chalupa - Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (NECTFL), West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV

Hines Gaither

Krishauna Hines-Gaither - Mount Saint Mary's University, Los Angeles, CA

Jill Landes Lee

Jill Landes-Lee - Southwest Conference on Language Teaching (SWCOLT), University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT

Ousellin 01

Catherine Ousselin - Mount Vernon High School, Mount Vernon, WA


Kate Paesani - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

Ramirez 01

Amanda Ramirez - Central States Conference (Central States), Avon High School, Avon, IN

Carmela Bernadetta Scala

Carmela Bernadetta Scala - Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ


Kathleen Shelton - K-12 World Language Education Specialist, Columbus, OH

Tom soth bod

Thomas (Tom) Soth - Southern Conference on Language Teaching (SCOLT), Chapel Hill High School, Chapel Hill, NC